Corsair Community

Cm2x2048-8500c5d problems

jim65

I have been using your CM2X2048-8500C5D for several months with windows xp 32 bit and having no problems.

When I upgraded to windows 7 64 bit I put in another 2 matching DDR's (CM2X2048-8500C5D) and started having memory errors (total 8 gigs memory). I checked the memory sticks individually with memtest86+ and found one of the sticks was defective. I RMA the matching pair of sticks and got 2 replacements. I tested the replacements with memtest86+ and one stick had error problems. I again RMA the matching sticks and yesterday got the new pair. The new pair also has a problem. One stick is OK with memtest86+, 13 passes and no errors. The other stick will not even allow the machine to post. I just get bios beeping indicating memory error.

the bios is set to 5.33x which gives me 1066 speed and the voltage is 2.1, timing 5-5-5-15

I test one stick at a time and always in the first slot next to the CPU. All the sticks I have or have received in the past have been tested the same way.

I am not sure what to do at this point. The RMA takes two weeks for a return and cost me $6.00 shipping each time which would be OK but it does not get me working memory.

What can I do?

• Corsair Employees
I do apologize about the issues you are having. Most likely the issue you are running into is a limitation of the memory controller not the memory. Try slowing the memory frequency down the 667MHz or 800MHz and see if all of the modules will run.

I am only running 1 stick of memory at a time when I do the testing. 1 of the two sticks you sent works fine, the other will not allow the machine to POST, I only get beeps indicating memory error. I am not running 2 two or even 4 sticks at a time, just one.

I know when I run 4 sticks at the same time I will need to lower the timing. But now with just one stick it should be able to run at normal clock speeds.