Corsair Community

Is there an erase pgm that runs from windows?

luckyflyer

I'm somewhat new to ssd drives. I've owned my X32 for about 2 weeks now and I'm seeing the performance start to roll off. I have an external esata drive that I have loaded my os onto using acronis. I can boot into windows 7 using that esata drive. My question is, is there an erase program that will clean my X32 from windows? To me it would be easier to do it this way and would allow me to continue to use the computer while the drive is being erased. Would just doing a windows format of the X32 achive the desired results?

Thanks,

Luckyflyer

Hi Lucky

The problem with standard windows formatting is that it just removes the file allocation entries and not the actual data; this is why programs have been designed to recover data that has either been accidentally deleted or a drive has been accidentally formatted. It's also why secure erase programs have been developed to ensure that said data cannot be recovered. The problem with secure erasing is that many programs of this nature just over-write the data several times with 1's or 0's which makes the original data irretrievable and this type of erasing is not good for SSD's as all you would be doing is replacing one set of data for another. The idea behind the likes of Gparted or HDDerase is that they actually 'remove' all data from the SSD cells and thus returns the drive to a (near) fresh out of the box state.