Corsair Community

Need help installing H50 (Especially Paste Application)

shinysuitman

So I'm new to the whole heatsink install game. I've seen videos on how to apply thermal paste. Mounting the heatsink is actually the easiest part. It looked easy so I decided to scrape off the stock Corsair paste and add my own Arctic MX-3. I dunno but I just can't do it right. I feel like an idiot now for not just sticking with what was on the cooler. My stock (2.66 Ghz) idle temp is 36 on average. When overclocked to 4 Ghz the idle temp is about 49. I can play my favorite stress testing game but as soon as i try Prime 95 or Orthos I get a BSOD within a minute. I've kept re seating the cooler and re applying paste but it isn't working to keep cool.

I'm running a Enermax 1000 RPM fan that puts out 46 Cfm with the Corsair included fan that is supposed to put out 50 CFM. They're in push pull on the rad. I bought the fan because it pushes alot of air according to specs and it's inaudible. Should I have gotten a different one? I was also looking at the Scythe S-Flex.

I think my paste application may be a problem so I've included the best pictures of my CPU i could take.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2800/4232340421_3177bd0858_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2666/4233112420_1642d4256c_o.jpg

If I applied it incorrectly how should I apply it?

Thanks for the help and Happy New Year everyone!

When applying the thermal paste, you want it in the middle since the important part of the CPU is in the middle, the sides of the CPU is not that important so there is no need to spread it out

what i did was make a pea sized ball in the center

look at page 4 for ideas, you may want to spread it about 1/2 the thickness of a sheet of paper but only in the center inch, the cooler will spread it the rest of the way.

http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruct/as5/ins_as5_intel_quad_wcap.pdf