Corsair Community

2 pairs of TWIN2X1024-8500C5D - differing voltage

Maverick3489

I have been using 2GB memory (2.2V version 1.3) without issue since January 2008. Recently however I upgraded from Xp to Windows 7 and decided to purchase two more 1GB modules. On inserting them into their slots and restarting the PC - Windows now refuses to load. I'm assuming that this is because the new modules despite having the same model number operate 2.1V and version 4.3. The Bios seems to recognise them fine on bootup (i.e. 4096)

Can anyone please advise on my best course of action?

Thanks for the reply.

I'm afraid i am no expert with regards to memory and I see that Corsair have at least 3 versions of their Corsair 4GB, DDR2, XMS2-8500, 2x240 DIMM

1. TWIN2X4096-8500C5 (£88.45)

2. TWIN2X4096-8500C5C (£79.90)

3. TWIN2X4096-8500C5D (£99.98

All seem to operate at latencies of 5-5-5-15 and all have different costs associated though I appreciate that these vary based on the individual retailer.

Can anyone please advise me on which is actually the best value for money?

MTIA

I am guessing you would like to do some troubleshooting before you ship them off for an RMA. They may work together and save you the time and trouble. Try this:

Clear CMOS

Add 1 set of matched modules

Set timings and voltage, manually to 2.2v, 5-5-5-15 and 2T (aka 2N) command rate if your board allows it

Manually set memory controller voltage to 1.35v - 1.4v

Save, exit, power off, install 2nd set of modules

Test for stability.

If this fails, disable Legacy USB support in the BIOS and test each module individually with Memtest 4.0 from http://www.memtest.org

Thanks Yellowbeard,

I appreciate the advice, and i'd appreciate your thoughts on some advice I got from a friend;