Corsair Community

To buy 2 P256 or not.

morphin1

Hi guys,

This is my first time with SSD's and I have read a lot on the subject already in the last few weeks.

Am planning on getting 2 P256 256GB SSD's and have a few queries:

1. Has the performance loss with the full format on the P256 been fixed?

A. If not then by quick formatting a few times will i see similar drop in

performance?

2. In how long does the performance drop occur on the SSD(regular gaming

usage) where it starts effecting real life apps. As in if I am to use 1 SSD for

Win 7(64bit/32bit) and other for games how long before they go bad and will

{VBM18C1Q offers a “Performance Recovery” feature} this rectify that even

without Trim?

3. How bad is the performance drop and what duration are we looking at?

4. Shud i go for drives that are offer trim as opposed to the P265?

5. Also I read that a lot of P256 are failing. I live in India and will be getting the SSD's through a relative so RMA'ing etc will be a pain due to customs here.

Please help me make my decision as I definitely want to get these SSD's and sorry If I have made any mistakes here.

Thanks for your time and patience.

1. Has the performance loss with the full format on the P256 been fixed?

A. If not then by quick formatting a few times will i see similar drop in

performance?

NEVER FULL FORMAT AN SSD , you're just writing Zeros into the cells and that's not good .... a Quick Format does the trick. If you're installing Windows 7 to a *fresh* untouched drive then no need to format; just let Windows 7 walk you through the install.

2. In how long does the performance drop occur on the SSD(regular gaming

usage) where it starts effecting real life apps. As in if I am to use 1 SSD for

Win 7(64bit/32bit) and other for games how long before they go bad and will

{VBM18C1Q offers a “Performance Recovery” feature} this rectify that even

without Trim?