Corsair Community

4 out of 6 GB available on Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R

Jesterhead

Hello all, I'll get straight to the point: My bios only registers 4 of my 6gb with ram. I have made sure they're seated in the correct places, I've also switched them around and tried all combinations possible to make sure it's not a faulty stick. The funny thing is, Windows is able to notice that I have 6GBs of ram, but there it says only 4 are usable.

I'm no expert at this, so there might have been something obvious that I've missed. If further info is needed, then please ask, I'll answer as fast as I can.

Edit: Just thought I'd add the fact that I'm running on the latest BIOS available at stock clock.

Edit 2: I installed CPU-Z and made sure the RAM isn't allocated to my graphics card. CPU-Z also reports 6GB of RAM.

Thanks guys. :)

Memtest 86+ showed no errors, also looked for a bent pin in the socket, but none available.

I found out this, however; DXDiag shows my Video card is eating up 2.7GB ram, this doesn't show in CPU-Z or the software following the Gigabyte mobo (Easy Tune 6)

Here's some screenshots of my DXDiag:

http://www.wowbucket.com/uploads/1256627721.png

I know this might be outside of Corsair's supportfield, but is there an easy way to configure this the right way?

Thanks for your help so far.

Hello all, I'll get straight to the point: My bios only registers 4 of my 6gb with ram. I have made sure they're seated in the correct places, I've also switched them around and tried all combinations possible to make sure it's not a faulty stick. The funny thing is, Windows is able to notice that I have 6GBs of ram, but there it says only 4 are usable.

I'm no expert at this, so there might have been something obvious that I've missed. If further info is needed, then please ask, I'll answer as fast as I can.

Edit: Just thought I'd add the fact that I'm running on the latest BIOS available at stock clock.