Corsair Community

HX750W destroys my system

rogue71

Numerous attempts at contacting corsair through their "channels" which is only internal mail which obviously gets trashed, i had to register here to try to get a voice heard by someone that might actually care about customer service and quality of corsair products.

ive been building systems for over 18 years so i do know what im doing, even though its pretty darn hard to screw up a psu installation.

i got a nice deal on a new hx750 psu to go with a new video card. installed psu and everything semed fine for about 15 mins. system goes dead. attempted a restart... plumes of smoke from inside the case. tested psu with tester....dead.

ok fine it happens but i was worried about the smoke. plug in spare psu with nothing else attached to the board....dead. get a new motherboard and get a replacement psu ( opted for the hx620 as i now have no faith in these new hx professional series psus) found cpu and ram was fine. found more bad news. dvd burner, 2 hard drives and sound card all dead.

speaking with numerous suppliers in the area they all advised me to contact corsair customer service as this is just not acceptable.

corsair hx750 serial number:00192809207187

purchased through pccyber in ottawa.

i understand that psus are not perfect. things happen. fine. psus can go dead. fine. BUT THERE IS SUPPOSED TO BE PROTECTION WITHIN THE PSU TO PREVENT THESE THINGS FROM HAPPENING. THERE IS NO WAY A PSU SHOULD OVERLOAD ANY POWER LINES. INTERNAL CUTOFFS SHOULD PREVENT THIS. i expect shoddy workmanship from cheap equipment which is why i buy higher end gear. this is just not acceptable. im out approimately $650 because of one of your psus that was FAULTY. your website has no direct email contacts and both my internal emails have gone unanswered. i want to know what your company is going to do about this.

What "channels" are you talking about? Please clarify how you were trying to get in contact with them.