Corsair Community

Corsair Power supply failure

Gixbit

So, I'm kinda new to this and I'm not sure if this is the right place. But, here's my story.

I had recently bought a new system after having an old 2005 pc for few years.

I decided to get some pretty new gear as well. It's nothing short of enthusiast really. But, I only got into overclocking it just today. After trying to push my processor to 4.0ghz I figured it was too hot and I would need a better cooler. I decided that I can keep it stable at 3.8ghz. Well, I'm pretty lazy in that stuff because I only like to run stability tests when I'm not at the pc. So I decided to run prime95 on small ffts for 20 minutes, after which I decided to continue my stress test in a game of assassin's creed on high settings. Well, Out of nowhere my whole pc blacked out and lost power. I figured oh yea, I burned my cpu/motherboard out. Even though I couldn't really understand that being the case.

After tinkering around to get it to start by trying a different video card, realizing i can't try another amd processor as i have no other, I decided to try a different PSU. To my surprise and this is utter shock, the HX1000W I had been using died. It will not start the system anymore. I even cleared the cmos a few times manually and using a button on my board. my cpu usually runs at about 1.33volts and I was pushing it up at about 1.40-1.42ish for 3.8ghz. I went through a lot of blue screens and unexpected restarts to get it stable per se as far as I know at 3.8ghz. You can't really call that stable as I'm not sure if it was stable, I never got a chance. The power supply died first. So I've threw in the rma with Corsair and now this happened on a weekend. How wonderful. Things always happen on the worst days.