Corsair Community

slow benchmark for 128gbg2d for half

gr8wht

I installed 128gbg2d ssd drive in my computer as to run vista 64 home. I used acronis true image to copy the 45 gb of info off my main 1 tb hitachi drive. I am using the ssd to boot and the hitachi as a secondary drive. Everything has worked except when I benchmark the ssd, the first half is slow then the second half of the benchmark levels out to where it is suppose to read.. I used hd tune to benchmark it. I am new to most but a fast learner. I have adjusted some settings as indexing off, prefetching disabled and it still is the same. What is wrong?

HDTune_Benchmark_SATA____CORSAIR_CMFSSD-1.png.1b030286913a8465bb0b2872f5e11776.png

does the system boot in under 20 secs ? if so i would really ignore hd tune, its not the data rate that makes the system respond faster its the access times and yours is 0.1, i have had them results from time to time you find it be some random stuff that vista does

use an File benchmark like CrystalDiskMark the 4k should be around 2-10mb/s

http://crystalmark.info/download/index-e.html#CrystalDiskMark

the bit when it goes up to 200 or 150mb is parts of the disk that has not been used yet (its still in an erased state so hd tune gets high numbers back)

Hi. There are two reasons why (I think) that your benchmarks are a little less than expected:

1. You copied the disc, as opposed to doing a clean install.
  2. There was no trim performed prior to copying. And unfortunately for now, there is no trim to clean it up after copying.

I did the same thing, from one SSD to our 128 2d Corsair. Then I copied the Corsair drive back to the original SSD. The trim command on that original source SSD cleaned up a lot. I ran the trim command three times on that SSD. Then I copied that trimmed SSD drive back to our Corsair again. Faster response on the Corsair this second time!

I did more, but the above is the bottom line. We need a trim utility.