Corsair Community

Flash Voyager 16GB recognized as USBest device with no media

mikelustig

I have been using my 16GB Flash Voyager for about 2 months now, and a few days ago, upon inserting it it was no longer recognized normally, but instead as a USBest USB2FlashStorage device.

It is still given a drive letter by Windows as a removable drive, but contains no media (like a card reader with no card in it). I have tried this in 4 different computers now, both Windows XP and Linux (Ubuntu 8-10) and the result is the same in all of the XP machines. I couldn't see the device at all using Ubuntu (I have verified that I can read other flash drives with the Ubuntu box).

I have searched for this issue in these forums and elsewhere. Based on recommendations I have found, I have tried myriad flash diagnostic, data recovery, and formatting tools on the drive, but none of them recognize or try to act on it because the drive appears to have no media.

The only recommendation that I have heard and been unable to try indicated that this may be caused by corrupted firmware in the controller chip (the USBest part) and that flashing a new firmware onto that chip can correct the problem. However, I have searched high and low for such firmware, and can not find it. Is it true that I could re-flash the firmware of the controller chip, and if so, can Corsair provide me with software to do so?

I would like to try everything short of a data recovery company to get the data off of this drive before RMAing it.

Thanks for your time.

I'll take that as a "no" to the firmware question, too bad :(.