Corsair Community

TX750W Powers down after 5 seconds

rodeltac

I have an obscure fault with a Corsair TX 750W power supply. With 4 hard drives connected start up and running is normal. But if I disconnect one hard drive and start up with 3 hard drives resulting in a lower power demand the power supply powers off after 5 seconds during start up. No further start attempts are then possible without switching off the mains supply for around 2 minutes. If I reconnect the forth hard drive all is normal again.

Does this power supply have a minimum load requirement?

Also an annoying characteristic of this power supply is that after the second or third intentional shut down further starts are not possible unless you switch off the mains for a couple of minutes.

• Corsair Employees
As long as the 24-pin connector is plugged into the motherboard, you should not have to worry about a min. load on the PSU. It sounds like there could be a short or a grounding issue somewhere. I would try to isolate the problem and see if its a particular hard drive causing the problem (test them one at a time), and also test with different SATA power connectors to make sure a certain connector on the PSU is not causing the problem. You may also try disconnecting the drives from the motherboard and see if you can still duplicate the issues.

• 8 months later...