Corsair Community

Can't get my rams stable higher than 1066Mhz

athena

Hello all, first of all i would like to say i am not much of a overclocker :)

Well my problem is that i can't get my rams work at their proper speed. No matter what i do i can't get my rams work stable other than 1066Mhz. I have Corsair's DDR3 rams, TW3X2G1600C9DHX(2x2GB). I already tried to set my bios settings with some setting that i found in this site but still i have no luck.

I can set them to 1600Mhz and boot to windows with no problems but after some time my screen just freezes, i don't get a bsod but just a freeze. I would love to make them run at 1600Mhz stable but even 1333Mhz is fine tbh :)

I really need help on this matter, i am not experienced about this so any kind of help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Have you updated your BIOS? If so, I would perform a hard reset of the system and then a manual setting of the BIOS.

Download Memtest86+ Version 2.11 from--->

and extract the ISO image. Burn the ISO image to an CD-ROM disk.

Download CPU-z from

To perform a hard reset to clear any BIOS stack corruption issues.

1. Shut the system down
  2. Remove the power cord
  3. Insert Memory in the Black Slots
  4. Remove the CMOS Battery
  5. Set the CMOS_CLR Jumper to On
  6. Press the power button for 10 seconds
  7. Let sit for 10 minutes
  8. Set the CMOS_CLR Jumper to Off
  9. Insert the CMOS Battery
  10. Insert the Power Cord
  11. Restart the system
  12. Enter the BIOS
  13. Load Default Settings
  14. Save Default Settings and enter the below values:

AI Tweaker
Configure System Performance Settings
Ai Overclock Tuner = Manual
    eXtreme Memory Profile = Disabled
CPU Ratio Setting = 8
FSB = 333
FSB Strap to Northbridge = 333
DRAM Frequency = DDR3-1600
DRAM Command Rate = 2N
DRAM Timing Control = Manual
CAS# Latency =  9
RAS# to CAS# Delay = 9
RAS# PRE Time = 9
RAS# ACT Time = 24
All Else to Auto
DRAM Static Read Control = Auto
DRAM Dynamic Write Control = Disabled