Corsair Community

Another Memory Question?

Steve_h

Hi, first post here after trying to find a solution to my Ram problem.

I have been running 2x2Gb of Corsair XMS 6400C5 800MHz in my vista 64 rig fine untill I decieded to install another 2x2Gb.

Now the pc will either not boot at all or lock up once windows has started.

I was originally running the 4Gb sticks at 1.9v but once the errors occured I have set the bios to default in a hope of sorting the issue.

I can run 6Gb fine and even up this to 1.9v

When looking at the info in CPU-Z I see some strange timings compared to other posts here so would like to clairify this as well on any advise on being able to run 8Gb.

CPU-Z

DRAM frequency 400.0MHz

FSB:DRAM 2:3

CAS#LAtency (CL) 5

RAS to CAS Delay 5

RAS Precharge 5

Cycle Time 31

Bank Cycle 22

Command Rate 2T

Appologies if I am missing something but I am a noob at RAM tmings etc...

Many thanks in advance

You are going to have to do things to run 4 modules on that MOBO.

1. Increase the memory controller voltage. IIRC, 1.53v is required on the unit I used.

2. Put a fan and/or better cooler on the memory controller as the memory controller on this board gets incredibly hot with 4 modules.

If both of these things fail to bring stability, try the memory at DDR667.

Thanks for the reply,

do you suggest getting some cooling first before making these changes,or could I try it and see if it will run stable first?

I'm currently on water so may need to look for a suitable addition which don't come that cheap.

Do the figures look correct to you from CPU-Z or is there any other settings you could suggest?

And lastly is it better to just run 4Gb/6Gb at 800MHz rather than 8Gb at 667MHz?

sorry for all the questions :):

The real question is do you "need" 8GB of memory. If you don't really need it per se, then you can avoid all of this by sticking with 2 x 2GB.