Corsair Community

Totaly confused with 8GB and Vista.

lxtwin

Hi there, I wonder if anyone can point me in the right direction.

I have a dual boot system, Linux and XP, I upgraded to Vista and have started to see problems. I have been using the system for two years and has been 100% stable. When I am in Linux it is perfect but when in Vista within 1 1/2 hours it will freeze. I have spoken to MS who pointed me in the direction of BIOS settings via:

From MS

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have found a similar issue on our forums, the user also has an Asus motherboard:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/itprovistadesktopui/thread/4279bb19-ec16-4f94-b372-d9e12891f881/

Please take a look, in the solution the following Asus article is linked:

http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20080423190557703&board_id=1&model=P5N-E+SLI&page=1&SLanguage=en-us.

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have had all the settings at default but have been reading through the threads and set the following:

Memory Timing Setting

tCL = 5

tRCD = 5

tRP = 5

tRAS = 18

Command Per Clock = 2 clocks

Advanced Memory Settings

tRRD = Auto

tRC = Auto

tWR = Auto

tWTR = Auto

tREF = Auto

tRD = Auto

tRFC = Auto

Async Latency = Auto

Voltages

Vcore = Auto

Vdimm (DRAM Voltage) = 2.0v

NB Vcore = 1.35v

memtestx86 works fine. I am using the 32bit version because I have heard that Photoshop has a problem when running on 64bit Vista. Should I reinstall with 64 bit vista, am I missing anything or is Vista just rubbish ?

Any help would be great.

paul

You are trying to run 4 modules of 1066Mhz (2 Kits) as fast as 2 modules of 1066 (1 Kit).

If you populate all four DRAM slots, then you are advised to drop the DRAM bandwidth and raise the memory controller voltage.