Corsair Community

Computer Issues Related to Mains Voltage Drop

Frankievalli

Hi I am a regular system builder and Was asked in March 2008 to build a compact pc for a couple living on a narrow boat.

I built a compact desktop pc based on an Intel Processor E series

Whilst the PC was in my house I built it up and had no problems with stability or crashing or using any features or playing any games.

As soon as I gave the pc to the new owners it started to mess about,

I have now re built the machine 4 times and installed new Fans for cooling, New HDD due to damage to the orignal even to the point of replacing the mother board thinking there was a problem with the SATA controller. All this to no avail.

I did some leg work and checked the 240v supply to the boat an found it to only be 221v~ .

Could this cause problems with the internal voltages to the M/B and Drives ??

Are the Corsair PSU fully auto sensing with regards to input voltage ?

Will a new Corsair PSU be able to cope with an inadquate 221v~ supply.

PLEASE HELP ME I AM AT THE END OF MY AGHH!!!!!

Kind Regards to any one able to help....... :biggrin:

If the PSU is cheap, then I would replace it regardless, it could start damaging hardware. Theoretically any PSU should work fine on 221v, as it is inside spec, but the cheap PSU may not. If a Corsiar has the same problem, then you will likely need an AVR as the voltage may be fluctuating.

• Corsair Employees
?? AVR ?? Sorry for my Ignorance

AUTOMATIC VOLTAGE REGULATOR AVR ?

Thats right, some backups will have AVR to help clean up the power signal. I couldn't tell you much about the PSU you are currently using, however our PSUs are designed to work with Universal AC input 90~264V and the PSU automatically scans and detects the correct voltage.

• 1 year later...

regarding similar power issues from mains...

I have a tx750w PSU in my case and I'm having random shut-downs and issues with turning back on afterwards.