Corsair Community

overclocking dif parts

cliffie

Hi,

Im quite new to overclocking and would love some experianced help!

My questions:

1. How much is it "safe" to overclock the CPU? I have seen some go up to 3Ghz with the Q6600 using only fan-cooling, is that a "recommended" speed?

2. If i would like to overclock to that speed (or a speed u suggest), how should i start? What FSB should i set etc etc...

3. Will i need to upgrade the CPU-fan? In that case what can u recommend, (price don't really matter that much)?

4. To overclock the RAM, i only need to increase the voltage? How do i know when to stop! :bigeyes:

/The swede

I got a tip to change to TRUE. And so i have done, works just fine!

But i have some trouble with OC.

I start with increasing the FSB from the 1066 Mhz that it starts by to 1080 Mhz -> 1110 and so on. But the system gets unstable directly and restarts when i get asked if i want to start windows in safemode etc. So it gets past the POST (i think?).

I tried to increase the CPU V in bios, at the different FSB speeds. I have tried everything from 1.2 to 1.42 but it reboots still. Sometimes when it reboots the FSB settings returns to auto-settings on FSB etc. Seems almost like the bios resets itself, but not fully since some settings like date etc still remains intact.

Is there a setting that i should change or what? :confused:

Download CPU-z from

Download Core Temp

Download Prime95 for Quads from-->

Please post a screenshot of CPU-z's CPU, Memory and SPD tabs. Then post a screenshot of Core Temp. Finally, run Prime95 (Small FFT's) for 10 minutes and post a screenshot of Core Temp while Prime is still running. I need to see these values before helping you with an overclock.

here are the images you required :roll:

http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/4456/cpuzmz5.th.jpg

http://img114.imageshack.us/img114/152/prime95smallfft10minsstls8.th.jpg

http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/4237/prime95smallfft10minsmc8.th.jpg