Corsair Community

TR3X6G1600C8D - Asus P6T Deluxe - 920

PSharp

I am new to building a system and would like to get feedback as to the compatibility of the Corsair Dominator TR3X6G1600C8D with the Asus P6T Deluxe and Core i7 920.

Is this a very good match? My understanding is I would need to overclock the 920 to make use of the 1600. Is this correct? If so, I don't think that is a problem ... I just want to be sure I'm not overbuying what the cpu can use.

Is there a better Corsair product for my motherboard and cpu?

If compatible, I would like to buy 6 gig (3 x 2). Would I be able to add another set of 3 like it in the future to make 12 gig? Will the board support that?

I am concerned the TR3X6G1600C8D does not appear in the Asus qualified vendor list. Why is this?

Thanks in advance!

Hold up Ram Guy, the i7 can only support 1066 ram so why bother with the 1600, and also according to Asus's web site an Intel standard would limit any 1600 ram to one dimm per channel which would limit this config to 6 gig NOT 12 gig.

I got both of these items from Asus's site and the MoBo manual, am I wrong?

Thanks!

• Corsair Employee
Hold up Ram Guy, the i7 can only support 1066 ram so why bother with the 1600, and also according to Asus's web site an Intel standard would limit any 1600 ram to one dimm per channel which would limit this config to 6 gig NOT 12 gig.

I got both of these items from Asus's site and the MoBo manual, am I wrong?

Thanks!

The i7 can and does support MUCH higher frequency memory than 1066. We have MOBOs in the lab running DDR2000 with 12GB. I have one beside me (Asus P6T Deluxe) running 12GB of 1600.

Ok, my bad, I'm a noob when it comes to this crap!

I would like a suggestion on the best ram to use on an Asus P6T with an Intel i7 920 with absolutely no OC'ing involved, I've never OC'd and the rig I want to build is way too many $$ to experiment, so can anyone make a suggstion?

Thanks!