Corsair Community

smoke came out the back of hx520 psu

verve

Hi I was building my first computer. Motherboard evga 780i, intel quad processor, evga 9800 gt graphic card, and 520hx corsair power supply. As soon as I pushed the power button on the case, psu turned on and smoke came out the back. I immediately disconnected the power from the psu. I shorted out the green and the black wire and the fan ran just fine. I tried restarting the computer again and the motherboard turns on for one second and immediately shuts down. I talked to corsair customer service and they are issuing me a rma number.

However, this is my first build and i wanted to know if the faulty powersupply somehow fried my motherboard or not. How can i find out if the power supply caused any damage or not? Is this the reason why

ps. I talked to evga customer support and they said i should take out the motherboard from the case and try starting it. They said it might be a grounding issue. However, i dont want take further risk by using a faulty psu so i'm gonna wait until corsair sends me the replacement.

• Corsair Employees
I would agree with you that its probably best to get the unit replaced, just to be on the safe side. The PSU itself has overvoltage and overcurrent protection circuits built in, so if the PSU failed for some reason, its unlikely that any other components would have been damaged.

I would agree with you that its probably best to get the unit replaced, just to be on the safe side. The PSU itself has overvoltage and overcurrent protection circuits built in, so if the PSU failed for some reason, its unlikely that any other components would have been damaged.