Corsair Community

Possible Incompatible or bad Ram Error?

kenalcock

<sigh> Okay, I'm a novice PC builder. I work in IT, so this hardware stuff usually doesn't go too far over my head, and I did read up before I started building this new system. Still, I assume I know nothing, and I've tried my best troubleshooting here to no avail. My Situation: I'm building a new system out of brand new parts (all parts are unproven except the monitor). Upon assembly and boot-up, I don't even get to a BIOS screen, I keep getting a single beep of about three seconds, then a continuous beep out of the motherboard speaker (Award BIOS). I powered down and removed everything. I then took the motherboard out of the chassis and placed it on a none conductive surface (to eliminate any shorting possibilities. I then connected only the: CPU with active heat sink, RAM, PSU, chassis power switch, led, and speaker. I also plugged a working hard drive into the PSU for load, but didn't connect it to the motherboard. I still get the same beep sequence. The best I can ascertain, from various sources, is that this beep sequence might mean incompatible, poorly seated, or bad memory. Or, one source suggested it might be a faulty power supply. When everything was connected, the PSU lit up led's, spun up hard drives and Cd Roms, all system fans worked well, etc. Since all of these parts are brand new (and I don't have a compatible system nearby to test them in individually), I have to assume it could be anything, so that my bases are covered. My Questions I'm wondering if I purchased the wrong RAM for this system? Or do you think I could've received faulty RAM? Can you confirm whether or not I made a design mistake here? Any ideas how to troubleshoot this better? My system specs are below. What I wanted was a 1GB matched set (2x512MB) of PC3200 DDR RAM with ECC. (NOTE: I will subsequently be building a second system based on the same motherboard, but I want 2GB matched set (2x1GB) of PC3200 DDR RAM w