Corsair Community

System NOT recognizing full RAM after Upgrade! Please Help.

nemy

I am new to updating RAM and I need anyone's help. I have a Gateway GT5228: WIN XP Home Edition 32-Bit. My PC originally came with 2 X 1024 MB 533 MHz PC4200 DDR2 SDRAM. I bought an Additional 2 from Corsair (Product # VS1GB533D2) to make it a total of 4 X 1024 MB 533 MHz PC4200 DDR2 SDRAM. After I installed the new RAM I loaded windows normally and went into "My Computer -> Properties" and noticed It only recognizes 3.12 GB of RAM. I looked into the forums and Ran the Memory Test and it passed. I also read something about Modules for Motherboards. My Motherboard is FIC K2BC51 Motherboard with NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Chipset , it is not listed on the website. If anyone can help me figure this out I would really appreciate it.

You need a 64bit operating system to be able to see the full 4GB of RAM. http://www.houseofhelp.com/v3/showthread.php?t=63681

Let me clarify.

Your computer has many methods in which to use memory. There are memory storage and caches all over the motherboard. These devices contain some of the below method of storage:

* RAM

* ROM

* Cache

* Dynamic RAM

* Static RAM

* Flash memory

* Virtual memory

* Video memory

* BIOS

For example, your sound, video, keyboard, chipset caches, I/O controller (IDE, SATA, etc) caches . . . Now these device with discrete and cache RAM need to have their "Addresses" so that the computer knows where they are in order to query and access them.

You computer also has System Resource Memory. Consider this as an index of addresses that tell the computer where everything is for access as mentioned above. The computer needs to know that a certain boundary of addresses will contain certain functions to perform when commanded.