Corsair Community

CM2X1024 6400C5DHX only working with one ram on P5Q

chrisaix

this is a new build, i cant seem to make the 2 sticks of ram work on my asus P5Q, i have already updated my bios the latest version, i ran memtest and 1 stick is ok and the other would not even boot, it will only work with single ram but both it would just freeze in the windows logo.i tried each ram on every slot on my motherboard and the other would not boot. do you think my ram has a problem and have it replaced where i bought it? i hope for your help.

thanks.

• 2 weeks later...

hi ramguy,

just a follow up question, im planning to add a pair of 8500c5d someday which will make my ram to 4 sticks, im just wondering if it would work on my mobo P5Q? and im planning to OC my q6600 GO to atleat 3-3.2ghz, or what do you think is the sweet spot for it? i have a coolermaster V8 for my heatsink.

thanks in advance.:biggrin:

hi ramguy,

just a follow up question, im planning to add a pair of 8500c5d someday which will make my ram to 4 sticks, im just wondering if it would work on my mobo P5Q? and im planning to OC my q6600 GO to atleat 3-3.2ghz, or what do you think is the sweet spot for it? i have a coolermaster V8 for my heatsink.

thanks in advance.:biggrin:

This board has not seen great successes with an 8GB population. The DRAM is fine and keep in mind that DRAM is passive, it can not effect a four or eight GB population. If the sticks pass in single testing, then they are proof of the DRAM's working. If they pass in two slot 1 & 3/2 & 4, then that is proof of the motherboard memory controller's stability in Dual Channel Mode. If they do not work in 2 X Dual Channel Mode, then that is an issue of the motherboard memory controller and must, as such, be dealt with at the motherboard level.

Google P5Q 8GB Problems and you will see what I mean.

I would advise you to sell the 2 X 1024 and transition to a 2 X 2048 configuration. You are advised to drop the bandwidth one bin.