Corsair Community

2 pairs of TWIN2X4096-8500C5D not booting on P5N32-E SLI PLus

rust3d

Hey guys,

Ive been forum hunting for a while no to no avail. here is my problem

1. 8 gb ram is stopping my system from booting on my asus p5n32-e (gets stuck on bios intro screen, however i still have the ability to go into bios settings :confused:)

2. However if i have 6gb it boots up fine.

3. I have tested all ram kits and they work fine.

Additional relevant information:

- Previous ram installed (4gb): 4x xms2-6400 (so all dimms are working)

- Running: Xp pro 64

- Have not updated my bios

- Yes i do utilize all 8gb because of my work. (visual effects)

- Im a bit of a noob when it comes to tweaking bios settings.

Would appreciate any help.

TY in advance.

Rusty.

When you populate all four DRAM slots it is advised to drop the bandwidth.

Please research this thread:

http://www.houseofhelp.com/v3/showthread.php?t=64360&highlight=Unpredictable+results+QUAD2X4096+Gigabyte+X38-DS5

The issue is the On Motherboard (Intel) memory controller and a population of all four banks at the full speed of a two bank run. This issue is across the board with both Nvidia and Intel chipset based boards, DDR, DDR2 and DDR3.

Keep in mind that often issues arise in the longer term. The issues seldom damage the DRAM. They damage the on motherboard memory controller which has a harder time keeping up with the demands of a four DRAM slot population being run as fast as a two DRAM slot population. Those who want to be secure in their system either purchase a single kit of the DRAM capacity that the four singles have or they move to a higher bandwidth DRAM and drop the bandwidth. I also advise it as I have personally seen the issues that can and often do arise with a four DRAM slot population running at the full speed of a single kit speed.

I personally advise for a two stick solution as it is far gentler to the motherboard memory controller.