Corsair Community

Getting 1600 out of my TW3X4G1600C9DHX

Islandor

Hi,

You can see my system specs above, just built my first PC with the parts shown. Its working perfectly but would like to get the most out the RAM I purchased from Corsair. My Q6700 has a 1066FSB, and thats what shows in Windows or CPU-Z. I understand from reading here, and elsewhere, that I would need to OC the Q6700 to do this.

I have never done this before so would appreciate any simple (if possible) suggestions as to the correct OC settings for the Q6700 with my system, step by step woul be even better :-) I was not planning on any other modifications, unless they are necessary.

Great to have a place like this with experts like Derek & Ram Guy around, and the readers as well, to help out, thanks!

If you drop your multiplier and raise your FSB, then you will be able to make the 400Mhz FSB for 1600Mhz on the DRAM. Even then, many of those processors ran quit hot so you will very likely need an aftermarket cooler for a stable overclock.

Download Realtemp from Here

Run Linpack for full memory (2) and use a 1 pass iteration. Run Real Temp and watch the temperatures.

What are the temps (Maximum Realtemp) after five minutes?

If you drop your multiplier and raise your FSB, then you will be able to make the 400Mhz FSB for 1600Mhz on the DRAM. Even then, many of those processors ran quit hot so you will very likely need an aftermarket cooler for a stable overclock.

Download Realtemp from Here

Run Linpack for full memory (2) and use a 1 pass iteration. Run Real Temp and watch the temperatures.

What are the temps (Maximum Realtemp) after five minutes?

Hi Derek.