Corsair Community

VX400W enough to power my system? - real beginner here!

thedons1983

Hello!

I want to replace my rather average standard spec graphics card for an Nvidia GeForce 8800GT, and having found Corsair's home page, the calculator thingy on there suggested the above PSU, or the VX450W, as being suitable for my setup. It also suggested the 520 I think, but my computer is limited to a 450W max according to HP, so that's out anyway!

Will the cx400w be enough to power my system with stability do you reckon, or am I better going for the vx450w instead? Bare in mind, I'm a student, so price counts, and apart from adding another 2GB of RAM (Corsair of course!), I plan to do no further upgrades to this system, so I need no "headroom" for extras.

Also some of the PSU's I have seen are rated as say, 400watts total output, but have an actual maximum (ceiling) output rated at 405watts. Is this something thats normal with a PSU? I only ask, because I wondered if the vx450w PSU maxed at say 455watts, and my system can only take 450watts (according to HP), will this cause problems?

One other quick question, and any help thats offered will be greatly appreciated, but I wondered if either/both of the PSU's I have discussed are compatible with my microATX motherboard (presumably used to bring the cost and price of the PC down, as opposed to making it small, cos it certainly ain't!)? As far as I can tell from a rough measurement either of the above should fit "physically" in my tower. The current PSU seems to have the same measurements as the Corsair one's, the tower itself is fairly big, and the PSU's appear to have the correct connectors, but I wondered if there would be any other compatibility issues?