Corsair Community

Is this ram genuine or not?

Bad_Ram

I think i might have purchased dodgey ram. I got lazy and purchased from E-bay from a seller with good reputation and claiming that this Corsair product had a lifetime warranty. I was not aware that only approved people could sell; corsair products until i viewed the warranty page here?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&item=280277912442

The ram came in correct packaging but on further inspection i notice the barcode reads TWIN2X4096-6400C5 G but it should be 2048 not 4096 which leads me to belive that this may be fake. I have run Memtest and after the about the 5th pass i get a page full of errors. I've attached a picture sorry for the low detail i took it with my Phone.

i have attached cpu-z screeners as well and im not an expert but the timing and what not look correct. How can i tell if this is legit ram and its just gone bad?

http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=4464&stc=1&d=1225834668

http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=4465&stc=1&d=1225834716

http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=4466&stc=1&d=1225834716

Memory1.jpg.693c677c13db0e4543076fe56440f776.jpg

memory2.jpg.7a7b2b631734eb671dbbe60a966c12a6.jpg

05-11-08_063320.jpg.48d0b6fdd6201b305751212c2471eefc.jpg

• Corsair Employees
Everything in CPUZ looks normal for a kit of TWIN2X4096-6400C5 (CM2X2048-6400C5 is the part number for each individual module). I would suggest that you load setup defaults in the BIOS and then test the modules one at a time in the slot closest to the CPU. Let us know your results!

Everything in CPUZ looks normal for a kit of TWIN2X4096-6400C5 (CM2X2048-6400C5 is the part number for each individual module). I would suggest that you load setup defaults in the BIOS and then test the modules one at a time in the slot closest to the CPU. Let us know your results!