Corsair Community

Need help with overclocking my athlon 3000+

Sultan_of_salsa

Hi, I'm new to this overclocking bussiness and I need some help overclocking my computer. I just bought Twin1024-2700ll memory for my MSI kt6 delta motherboard. I really can't figure out how to go about 184 Mhz, everytime I do, the computer crashes. I use the Core Center that comes with the board to test differnet settings. I have my timings at 2-2-2-6 T1, and the voltage at 2.7. I don't understand why I can't get it to go any faster than that. My processor is not unlock, would that hold me back?? Any help would be greatly appeceated! Thanks Salsa

Many motherboards, like my MSI K7N2Delta have a jumper pin you need to adjust in order to go after a higher FSB....look in your owners guide. You also need to let us know what PROCESSOR you are trying to run! Also, what kind of power supply, heatsink/fan, video card, OS, ratio, etc...Give as much detail as possible... Overclocking takes a little more know-how than just turning up the FSB and adjusting a multiplier if you want to do things right. Is your ram burned in? Is the CPU? Is the BIOS updated? Are all your drivers updated? There is a good noob's guide to overclocking a CPU at [URL=http://www.max-oc.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=870]THIS SITE[/URL] I'd read that guide before going any further...also, there are a ton of threads concerning overclocking, so sit a spell and have a good read! Feel free to join up and ask a few questions while you're there. Some of the best OCers I know frequent that site.