Corsair Community

Computer shuts down

darkhon

Here is the short story:

I bought a brand new powerful computer from a boutique PC maker.

I am not an electrician type, so buying and using a "Multi-meter" is beyond my skill and/or interest. I just wanted to buy a functional computer and use it.

PROBLEM: The computer will randomly shut down and then not power back on for 20-30 minutes.

Symptoms: It was happening frequently when I had a 1300 VA UPS hooked up to it, so I moved the computer power directly to the wall outlet and bypassed the UPS thinking the UPS was just not powerful enough. This seemed to make the mask the shutdown for several weeks, however even though I have changed nothing it has recently started powering down at randome every 30 minutes or so.

My suspicion: The powersupply is over/under is being tripped somehow.

Even though the computer will not power up, when the power button is on a small blue LED light IS on. To me this sounds like a key peice of information, that maybe you can help with?

I have reset the cmos settings, they just sold it to me as the latest bios, I have checked the voltage through the cmos and the heat and neither of those seem to be at issue. The fans seem to work great.

Is the 750W power supply overkill?

could this be the root of my problem?

Can you recommend solutions that do not involve complex/intrusive changes on my part? (In other words, if the solution starts with "First open the case, then put a wire to another wire and short the.." then that is beyond my abilities.

additional question, is the 1300 VA UPS sufficient for this computer, or do I really need to invest 300 more dollars in a 1500 VA UPS (Which is the highest I can find available in retail outlets/for home use)

I bought a brand new powerful computer from a boutique PC maker.
I would contact them first under their warranty, as their RMA process (if needed) may be quicker. Also, depending on their warranty system, they may send a tech to you for free.