Corsair Community

450W VX gets quite hot during games- Sufficient air flow?

kirbsmeister

The title says most of what I'm asking. I'm a bit of a noob so bear with me. During games the PSU gets quite hot (feeling from the outside). I should also point that there's not much air flowing out of it, although I don't know if there's exactly meant to be loads of air gushing out of it. The PSU doesn't seem to get noticably loader (fan-wise), so is this a sign that it's sufficiently cool for PSU standards?

I have an exaust fan at the bottom of the PC, which I think could be sucking all of the air out, leaving little air for the PSU to suck in? Should I crack open one of the plates at the back to provide an air source for the PSU (if there actually is a problem).

Many thanks!

• Corsair Employees
What type of video card and case do you have? One thing to try would be to mount the PSU outside of the case, hook it up to your system and see if it is still getting excessively hot. If so, then we would want to get it replaced, however if it is only heating up when mounted inside your case, you may need to look into more sufficient cooling for your system. How are the other temps in your system?

I have a XFX geforce 9600 gt extreme edition graphics card, and a standard compaq presario case (which has relatively decent ventilation btw). The graphics card doesn't exceed 65 deg C. The graphics card is the closest component to the power supply, the CPU and ram are low down and in line with the exause fan and don't seem to stand a chance of overheating. I don't have software to monitor any temps other than the Graphics card at the moment.

I may try the PSU out of the case when I have the time. But would it have the same effect to try removing the side pannel when it gets hot and seeing if it cools? (I know you're not really meant to remove the side pannel. But I haven't overclocked any of the system, so I doubt it'll bust into flames the second the air flow changes?

Thanks,