Corsair Community

two Twin2X2048-6400. 4gigs wont boot on vista 32x.

Ataraxis

so i have two sets of the twin2x2048-6400 and the pc specs are Asus P5N-E SLI with intel core 2 quad 2.4ghz. just put the pc together, had two gigs of ram at first, ran great with the vista i have. Went back to get 2 more gigs of ram, sense this motherboard supports 4 gigs total and the pc wont boot windows vista. Im sure this has been posted before but hey im a noob. So im sorry. Lastly, the dude at the electronics store said i can do it with the vista i have, its just windows will only read it as being 3.0-3.5gigs of ram. Suggestions? Thanks

When you populate all four DRAM banks you will very likely need to drop your bandwidth to allow the memory controller to be able to access and load the now doubled slots. For 800Mhz (PC6400Mhz) DRAM, you will very likely need to drop to 667Mhz with 5-5-5-15, set your DRAM voltage to ~2.1V. and also might well have to raise the voltage on the Northbridge (MCP) to ~1.4v. Two slots populated will not cause this issue. Research this thread and if you have any questions that the thread does not answer, please post them in here.

http://www.houseofhelp.com/v3/showthread.php?t=64360&highlight=Unpredictable+results+QUAD2X4096+Gigabyte+X38-DS5

Download memtest from--->
and extract the ISO image. Burn the ISO image to an CD-ROM disk.

Advanced:

JumperFree Configuration

AI Tuning = Manual

Overclock Options = Disabled

System Clocks

NB PCI-e Frequency (MHz) = 100

Voltage Control

Vcore Voltage = Auto

Memory Voltage = 2.013v

NB Core Voltage = 1.393

FSB & Memory Config

FSB - Memory Clock Mode: Unlinked

CPU FSB: 266

CPU Multi: 9

DDR FSB: 667

Chipset:

Memory Timing Setting

tCL = 5

tRCD = 5

tRP = 5

tRAS = 18

Command Per Clock = 2 Clocks

tRRD = Auto

tRC = Auto

tWR = Auto

tWTR = Auto

tREF = Auto

tRD = Auto

tRFC = Auto

Async Latency = Auto

CPU Spread Spectrum = Auto

PCIE Spread Spectrum = Auto

SATA Spread Spectrum = Auto