Corsair Community

Twinx1024-3200LLPT and Asus A7N8X - dual channel mode not working?

LordPhobos

Hey guys, I need some help here. First, my pc's specs: Asus A7N8X Deluxe v.1.04 with Uber BIOS 1004 (with SATA support) AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.1ghz (200x10.5) Corsair XMS PC3200 512mb @ 200mhz HIS Radeon 9800 Pro with Cat4.2's (not overclocked) Windows XP with SP1 Those are the pertinent facts. Yesterday I received my new pack of Corsair XMS TwinX1024-3200LLPT that I bought for my pc. It worked fine in my pc at the current timings of 2T-3-3-7 and Windows loaded just fine. It wasn't until I started playing a game that I had issues. Right after getting past the menu screen for the game the game crashed as soon as it was getting ready to load the level (this was Medal of Honor). No matter how many times I tried it the same thing happened. So I tried running other games, and even 3dMark2001SE, but the same thing happens. The game loads the level for maybe 20 seconds at best, and then crashes to a black screen and I have to reboot. Only after lots of different setting tests was I able to determine that it seems to only happen when I play a game, and when the RAM is in dual channel mode. Right now I'm running DocMemory going on over 7 hrs with no errors, same thing with MemTest86 and Prime95. But as soon as I try to play a game, it crashes. I have tried the highest timings I can do (something like 3T-8-8-15) just for kicks, I've tried different slots, I've tried everything I can think of. When I have the RAM in the slots that keep it in single channel mode, however, it can run games/3dmark2001 just fine. So it seems that it has something to do with dual channel mode and displaying anything in 3d (it also gave me issues when trying to run a 3d app, which is why I really purchased this new ram). At this point I am willing to try anything, though I've tried everything I can think of. I believe that the RAM is fine since it only gives issues in one specific situation, but I do no know