Corsair Community

Another ASUS P5N-E SLI thread.

Vollstrecker

Hiya, I'm kinda new to the computers of today (been many years since I built one) and I'm a little over my head to be honest. I put together a new gaming rig the other day and have had nothing but problems with the computer locking up sometime after I attempt to do something that takes a bit of resources. As most problems I've seen researching my motherboard point to some odd RAM issues, I figured I'd try you guys out. My computer specs are as follows:

Asus P5N-E SLI Motherboard (running 0608 BIOS revision)

Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 CPU

Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX Memory at Auto settings in BIOS

EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB Video Card

Western Digital SATA 500GB HDD

Ultra XVS 600w PSU

Sound Blaster Audigy SE Sound Card

Antec P182 ATX Case

From what I've understood is that these motherboards are very picky about their RAM settings and that the Auto settings are fairly worthless in that regard. I was hoping I could get some suggestions on how to configure the RAM to see if I get some system stability.

Thanks in advance!

Download Memtest from http://www.memtest.org

Enter your BIOS and set your Vdimm (memory voltage) to 2.1v. Boot to the Memtest CD and allow the program to run for 2 or more full passes. If it passes, then test to repeat your system issues. If they remeain, then I would look to flashing your BIOS.

The newest BIOS from ASUS (0703) supports new CPUs (Specifically G0 Revisions of which is your CPU) and enhanced memory support. I would flash the BIOS to the newest version. I would flash with the DOS tool and not the Windows Flash tool since you are having system issues.

Bios:

Newest Asus Dos Flash Tool:

• Corsair Employees

Derek & Vollstrecker

TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX modules are rated at 1.8 Volts but I would suggest setting the memory Voltage to 1.9 Volts and up to 2.1 Volts max if you are having a problem.

Vollstrecker