Corsair Community

Compatible motherboard for TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX

7-id

Hi, I want to start off by saying that I am fairly new to building computers (but I am learning!). I recently purchased a set of TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX and am currently looking to upgrade my motherboard. I have an AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+, and a 500watt Antec Smart Power-Power supply. I am also going to purchase a WD 500-Gig SATA Hard Drive. I am running my current set up as a dual-boot system (XP and VISTA) and would like to do the same with a new motherboard. My question is, I want to keep all of my current components (except for the motherboard and hard drive), but I checked the Corsair website for listings of compatible motherboards and when I check the Manufacturer's website (mostly ASUS) It is not listed in the QVL for the motherboards although it is listed on Corsair's Compatibility chart. It also seems that alot of people have problems with the ASUS boards and getting and maintaining stability with Corsair ram. Just wondering if there is a good reliable motherboard (brand doesn't matter) that has been tested and will work with my set-up without alot of headaches. I would like a motherboard with SLI as an option with both PCI-E slots running at a full 16x. I appreciated any input and thank you ahead of time.

• Corsair Employees
You have to remember that ASUS being one of the largest MB makers will have more volume and more user having problems. However, I think if you really dig into most of the problems reported I think you will see the biggest majority of them are resolved with the proper settings or a BIOS update. What ever MB you get I would suggest first thing getting the latest BIOS and updating it before you load the O.S. then follow the link in my signature and set the tested settings manually. And chances are about 99.8% that you will have no problems.