Corsair Community

New RAM causes FPS drop

BorisTheBlade

Hello. First off, I do not know much about RAM, so I am pretty much a noob here. Anyway, I have been running a pair of CMX 1024-3500 LL Pro chips in my PC for about a year now making 2 gigs of RAM.

I recently decided to up my system memory and I tried to find the above RAM again, but could not. So I purchased 2 CMX1024-3200C2PT for an additional 2gigs making 4 gigs total. Now I run into my problem.

BIOS can see all four gigs, but for some reason, my fps in games drop by about 20FPS. Was it a bad mistake buying two different types of RAM? Or is there a setting in BIOS that can help this?

My mobo is an ASUS A8N sli Deluxe on Windows Media Center(Which im thinking about reinstalling just XP pro).

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Im sorry, like I said I am pretty much a RAM noob. But this isnt a benchmark. This is just a normal game, specifically World of Warcraft. I would get around 30-40fps normally, then when I added the CMX1024-3200C2PT sticks, my FPS dropped to 10-17. If I just stick either pair in it runs better (both LLPRO or both C2PT sticks).

I ran MemTest for 12+ hours and it reported zero errors with all four sticks of RAM in. As far as the memory controller slowing the memory down to address the memory, im not sure I follow.

Thanks again for the help, I hope this extra information can help diagnose the problem.

• Corsair Employees
No I still dont know what you have the memory set to and only made the suggestion because its not clear to me what exactly you have in your system, but mixing memory is not suggested bottom line however that does not mean it cannot be done. But the memory performance will drop and the frame rates in a game are irrelevant especially if the game is not made to support more then 2.0 Gig