Corsair Community

Requesting input on CPU, RAM, Motherboard configuration

Hello,

I am getting ready to build my 3rd computer (the first two were nearly identical to each other and I was following a template off of ExtremeTech). As I am relatively new to building there are still many things that I don't fully understand.

I have gathered from various things that I have read that there is some kind of relationship between RAM (and the speed it runs at) and the CPU speed, but I haven't been able to fully grasp how that all works.

Here is the configuration I am wanting to do:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103767)

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145590)

ASUS M2NPV-VM Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6150 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131014)

My question is, can I run the above CPU at its default 2.6GHz with the above RAM at its default of 800MHz (with the above motherboard)? I have gotten the impression that one or the other will run slower, but I don't fully understand why or which one would run slower or how much slower or even if it really matters.

I want to use the above CPU because it is the fastest (well, particularly the largest L2 Cache, which I have heard helps with performance) AM2 dual-core processor that runs at 65 Watts.

I have no desire to overclock, though I am open to a slight overclock if it is necessary in order to have both the CPU and RAM run at the above speeds (and assuming that the system would be stable, and that the overclock would be worth the effort).

I found this quote on Newegg in relation to another 2.6GHz AMD processor: