Corsair Community

Mistake in getting 3700 for 3.2C?

darrylr

I am a newbie at OC'ing and the latest RAM tech so bear with me. I recently upgraded to a P4 3.2C in an Asus P4C-800DX-E MB. I was planning to get 1GB of the TWINX 3200LL RAM. The day I got my parts they didn't have that RAM in stock but had the TWINX 3700. Not knowing any better I thought that it would be just as good or better and I got it instead of waiting to get the 3200LL ordered in. After reading some more the last few days it seems the 3700 is probably slower than the 3200LL would be since I not OC'ing at all and running standard 200 FSB on my 3.2C. I may be able to take advantage of the 3700 better if I up the FSB. I have tried some different combinations in the BIOS including both the simple +XX% OC'ing options and some manual FSB settings. I have been able to get my system to boot and Windows (XP) to run ok by choosing +10% OC or setting the FSB to 220 (I think these 2 settings are pretty much the same). I am able though to get my system to hang while running 220 by doing intensive filters in Photoshop. I am running just stock cooling including a single chassis fan. How fast is the 3.2C capable of running? I understand that the 3700 RAM is capable of running at 466 Mhz (233 FSB I believe). I cannot get the system to boot at anything over 220. Are there other things I should be trying? Should I just give up and live with the fact that I bought the wrong RAM for my system? How much of a difference am I going to having running the 3700 at 200 FSB compared to if I had the 3200LL? Is it huge? I am happy with the performance of the system but I feel now a little disappointed that I didn't get the best I could get for the $$'s since the 3700 was the same price as the 3200LL would have been. My system is used about 50/50 for 3D gaming and Photoshop/Digital Video editing. Thanks for any advice. -Darryl