Corsair Community

VS1GBKIT400C3 in Abit AT8 - Problems!

jamesrichards

Firstly, I am a complete beginner when it comes to using support forums, so bear with me.

I have a problem with my corsair memory, although I am not certain that its a problem with the actual modules, I think it may be something to do with the settings in the BIOS.

My setup is as follows:

530w PSU

Abit AT8 Motherboard

Corsair 1Gb Ram Kit (VS1GBKIT400C3)

Athlon 64 3000

Ati Radeon X300

I experience blue screens several times a day (bearing in mind I use my computer after 6 when I get home - this is rather annoying)

The causes of the crash are either PFN LIST CORRUPT or IRQ NOT LESS OR EQUAL. Both point to many different issues (but usually involve RAM)

I can assure you that I have downloaded the latest BIOS and device drivers, but neither have made any difference whatsoever. As a last resort I replaced my system drive and re-installed Windows XP Pro - but to no avail.

So I concluded there but be a hardware problem, I downloaded Memtest and sure enough the RAM was reported faulty a number of times during test 5.

During these tests the RAM was running at 2.7 volts and the timings were set to SPD.

Due to the errors, I started the RMA procedure - when I discovered my RAM can be swapped but must be done via airmail to the US I had to find an alternative. So I ordered the exact same memory kit from ebuyer and replaced accordingly. I figured I can send back the faulty memory resulting in no downtime.

Guess what? The problem STILL remains, I started to suspect my motherboard settings, I cannot understand some of the posts, and are not sure whether or not similar issues (and solutions) are motherboard/cpu dependent....

Please can someone help - I am really struggling.

James.

Dear RAMGUY,

Thanks ever much for getting back to me so quickly. I have applied the settings and had both memory kits running on memtest for the past 12 hours. Not one error!!

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!