Corsair Community

Bad Module?

sdchew

Hi Guys,

need some advise. I built my system about 8 months ago and this is my first attempt at using Corsair RAM as all my previous systems used Kingstons. What attracted me to Corsair was their so called 'matched memory pair' which is supposed to be better for Dual Channel operation.

Anyway, to cut the story short, I get BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) off and on, typically only while the system is under heavy load (multiple applications running, video encoding, etc). The BSOD symptom isn't 100% repeatable, doesn't always BSOD, just once in a while and sometimes at random, but when it happens, it is normally under heavy loading.

Anyway, the error reporting page at Microsoft claims that the problem is memory related and asked me to download a diagnostic software called Windows Memory Diagnostic (http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp)

After running it a couple of times, I observed that I was able to repeatedly obtain errors during the extended (Press T to do extended testing) MATS+ and another test.

After looking at my Corsair box and reading that I should test using MemTest86+, I downloaded it and ran it over night. 17 pass later and still no error. Any suggestions on what is going on?

Ok, I finally got back from out of town to try your suggestions. I have updated the BIOS but the Windows Memory Diagnostic software still fails. Please note that this software is not windows based and it seems very similar to Memtest86 in look and operation. It also boots from a CD.

Pushing up the voltage up by 0.2 V caused reboots in Windows. It seems more stable at 0.1V increase but it still fails the Windows Memory Diagnostic MATS+ extended test. Interestingly, I noticed that the failure location is consistently at 1C8D8000 and it seems to be failing only one bit (Expected FFFF FFFFF, Actual FFFF FF6F)

Any suggestion?

• 3 weeks later...