Corsair Community

Foxconn P9657AA and Corsair XMS2-6400 Stability Issues

seraphaxg

Hi All,

I've recently tried to build my first Core2Duo machine (a replacement for a rock-solid Athlon PC that I'd build last year). Well, I didn't think it would be difficult, ordered the parts, assembled, turned it on- and all seemed fine, that was until I attempted to install XP.

So, I got part way through the installation process and I got a BSOD- strange. So, I tried a different installation disk, same problem different place ... hmmm. Took the machine to bits, put it back together, ran the installation again and it seemed to work- installed windows. So, thinking all of my problems were behind me, I booted windows, it worked for a few minutes and then my machine reset itself. After this, windows wouldn't boot at all, would get part way through the boot and then reset the machine.

At this point I started playing about with the memory (at the time ******** memory- which was the only memory available from the site I bought the bits from at the time). After extensive playing with dual channel, single channel and various timing changes I was unable to get the 2 peices of memory working together in an harmonious fashion, lots of system restarts. So, I bought some Corsair XMS2 6400-800MHz memory (2x1GB) and sent the ******** stuff back. The Corsair memory arrived next day, I immediately whapped it into the machine and, low-and-behold, the machine booted perfectly- everything seemed to be fine; well for a few hours atleast, and then the old problems started emerging again- random reboots, ocassionally starting windows- sometimes resetting before starting windows.

I seem to be only able to get a single peice of RAM working, in a stable fashion, in this mobo- with just the 1GB stick with default timings, all seems fine- but I really want the 2GB to work ... help !!!

So, after a week of refunds, replacements, rebuilds and reinstalls I feel there are a few options open to me: