Corsair Community

Corsair COOL CWC100 Water Cooling Kit

Diamond

Hi everyone. This is my first time building a machine with water cooling and I must say Its been a nerve racking experience. When u spent 1300 dollors on a machine u want to know that everything is running ok. Anyway my question is The kit i bought is great but the stock fan for the radiator i think is defective. I have tried everything 10 times over to resolve it but to no avail. I can not find any information whatsoever to let me know more stats on this fan except that its a 120mm fan. I wish i could find out more about what the CFN and RPM ratings are on it. Insted of tearing my system apart and RMA the kit back to retailer just for a working fan i was wondering if i can mod the radiator with a 120mm case fan i bought as well.

Here are the stats of the case fan:

Fan Type Case Fan

Fan Speed 1300 RPM

Air Flow 53.5 CFM

Bearing Type Sleeve (features a double ball bearing design)

Voltage 12 V

Current 0.20 A

Connector(s) 4-Pin Motheroard

Fan Dimensions 120 x 120 x 25 mm

Fan also has 9 blades on it and i can use the same shroud that came with the kit.

If this fan is not adequete enough for the kit to perform its best can someone suggest a fan I should use please????

Thank for the help all :)

The stock Corsair Cool fan runs at about 1700 or 2000 rpm and pushes about 65 cfm and is a 38mm thick fan. The replacement you have would be a little under powered. The thicker (38mm as opposed to 25mm) will be able to fight the air flow restriction through the radiator better that the thinner fan.