Corsair Community

Memory Saga, what am I doing wrong

I have 4 GB of CM2X1024-6400C4 with a D975XBX2 motherboard. I was having stability problems (blue screen) with vista 64. So, I got the memtest86 v1.70 as recommended here and started testing.

Well it said I had 3 bad modules. Not very bad, just fail 3-4 bits per pass. So, I RMAed the first set (I ran 1 GB to keep machine working). I got the replacement RAM in and took out the known good module and put in the replacement.

I tried memtest. One of the 2 new modules reported a few bit errors per pass. I am beginning to think there is a compatibility problem with my motherboard.

So, I took the 1 good stick that I had been running on for 2 months and the stick that did not have problems that came from the RMA and put them in the machine and started up the memtest again. I have it still running, it has run for 12 hours/24 passes. It has reported 1 bit error in test 7 pass 10 (Good 671faede/Bad 671faeda). It has gone of course 14 more passes without an error since then.

I am not overclocking. The memtest is reporting:

Settings: RAM : 399 MHZ (DDR798) / CAS 5-5-5-18 / Dual Channel (Interleaved).

According to the BIOS the votage to the memory is 1.84 volts.

Is my motherboard overly sensitive? I am using a QX6700 Processor w/Vista x64.

I have a new RMA for the other set of memory, but I have a mixed set now with 1 stick good from each of the 2 sets. Both of the "bad" sticks will produce several bit failures per pass of the memtest. So, one of the 2 memory sticks is not the same serial number as the new RMA since it is one of the 2 new sticks that I got back from the prior RMA.

Where do I go from here? Do I need a new RMA for the mixed set? Can I keep the mixed set? Or do I have to do returns as matched set only? Is there a setting on the motherboard I need to make?