Corsair Community

Problem with the memory?

levian

Hello, I'll try to give as much information as possible.

Here's some of my system specs :

(I have to admit that this is my first time building a computer and that I'm still a beginner...)

1. Operating System - Windows XP Professional with Service Pack 2

2. Motherboard - Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe NVIDIA Socket AM2 ATX Motherboard

3. Processor - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ 2.40GHz

4. RAM - Corsair Value Select Dual Channel 2048MB PC4200 DDR2 Memory (2 x 1024MB) Memory Speed 533MHz --- (VS1GB533D2)

5. Video card - XFX GeForce 6800 GS Extreme Edition / 256MB GDDR3

6. Harddrive - Seagate 320GB Serial ATA HD 7200/16MB/SATA-3G

When I finally managed to install everything I was pretty happy. But, I wanted to make sure if everything was ok. That is when I encountered a problem...

I could watch videos, listen to musics, go on the internet, etc.

But I would get an error each time I tried to install/play a game:

Lets start with this one (I tried to install WoW):

During the installation of the first disc of World of Warcraft, everything was going fine, until a few minutes later...

-"Sorry the installation failed. An error was detected while verifying the contents of the files "C\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Data\Speech.MPQ"

I read the stickies in their forums. It suggests going to Microsoft website and perform a memory scan. Unfortunately, when I tried to save an image (.iso) for the CD for the scan, an error appeared saying something about low memory.

I decided to try to install another game (Age of Empires III) to see if the problem persists. The installation went fine, but when I tried to play the game, I received this error :

"Memory system error, unable to allocate memory, size 1666186736"

And finally, I also tried to install yet another game (Battlefield 2142) .. The installation couldn't even start.

I'm guessing that if I try to install any software, I might encounter the same problem.