Corsair Community

K8N Neo2, X64 4400+, TWINX2048-3200PT 2GB DDR400 XMS3200

JoeSchmoe123

Greetings everyone - I'm an older student and took student loan money to get a "decent setup" that would allow me to do digital audio as my hobby.

However there's some bottleneck that leads me to believe my hardware timings are messed-up. I don't want to overclock, just get the best stock settings. My BIOS settings are:

* Disable Cool & Quiet, Aggressive timing option ON, Dynamic Overclocking OFF, no RAID just SATA, HTT @ 5, CPU multiplier at 11.

RAM timings:

TCL: 2.5

TRCD: 3

TRP: 3

TRAS: 6

1T/2T: 1T

Trc: 13

Trfc: 18

Trrd: 3

TRWT: 3

If there are voltages I should change or diagnostics I should try I'll gladly do it, as recommended here. If I can provide additional ainformation just ask.

Thank you VERY much.

(there's no way I can afford different RAM or Mobo - I'm stuck with what I have, I'm dirt poor otherwise and am here only after exhausting the "regular performance tweaks).

First your spex say 2 x ... for the memory. Do you have 2 DIMMs or 4 DIMMs total?

First, I would suggest raising the voltage up to 2.8v +/- .5v if your bios allows that. Also, disable the Aggressive Latency Option if you can. This could easily interfere with any manual bios settings you choose.

Mike .

specmike thanks a lot, I did both things and will test for hours.

And I have 2 DIMMS total installed, for 4 Gigs total memory, running XP Pro.

If you or anyone else have more tips or tweaks for other BIOS settings I'm all ears. Again thanks, testing in progress :)

Thanks very much Ram Guy - I can't find settings for TRFC, TRRD nor TRWW so I'm in the midst of finding which BIOS had those - I remember one of them DID, though it may be an unofficial one - no problem I tried them all and none of them wrecked anything I know of.

Mind if I bug you with one more question?

I don't understand the relationship between the FSB and HT etc as it may impact RAM.