Corsair Community

RAM Problem

Jaz541

The initial problem was that the machine would not boot up to windows. It would just blue screen and restart. So I checked the bios if anything had been overclocked be mistake. As it is an Asus NCCH-DL motherboard designed for server use there are no options to overclock the processors (just underclock, maybe because the multiplier is locked), however there are options to change the timings for the memory. I have been using the 2-3-3-6 timings for the past 10 months and never had a problem (http://www.corsairmemory.com/corsair/products/specs/twinx2048-3200c2.pdf) so I changed them back to what the motherboard detected by default 3-4-4-8 timings. No luck. I even reset the bios, still no luck. :confused: :confused: Eventually I checked if each individual RAM stick worked, it turned out that one worked perfectly (still @ 2-3-3-6) and the other caused blue screen. So I ran Memtest to confirm this and I received a bunch of errors for the stick I suspected faulty.

• 1 month later...

My previous post concluded that one of RAM modules (I’ll refer to this module as RAM1 and the other ‘good’ module as RAM2) was faulty and Memtest proved that. However, I was quite busy using the computer so I couldn’t RMA both modules back. (I have 2 computers so I’ll refer to the computer mentioned in my previous post as COMP1 and the other COMP2)