Corsair Community

GigaByte K8NS and timing problems

mabian

Hello,

maybe this one is an old issue, but there's something more I would like to know:

I've been running for about 2 years a GA k8ns based system with Athlon64 3.2GHz and two VS512MB400C3 (512MB) modules, recognized by CPU-z as Xerox brand.

After some bios updates I was able to run steadily DDR RAM at 200MHz - last BIOS, F19, even recognized and set automatically the correct RAM speed.

Now I bought an additional VS1GB400C3 and found out that:

- The BIOS now configures RAM speed @166MHz (actually CPU-Z reports 157.9 MHz), and, keeping this settings, the system is rock solid, albeit slower of course

- Forcing RAM timing to 200MHz (CPU-z reports about 201 MHz) apps crash with no repeatable pattern in a matter of minutes - that is the system becomes unreliable.

This still happens also tweaking parameters to 3-4-4-8 and RAM voltage to +.2 in BIOS.

- Previous BIOS; F18, even does not allow 200MHz; it allows configuring them but then actually the RAM runs at 157.9 MHz, again according to CPU-z.

So the main questions are:

1) is there a way to use these three memory modules together at 200MHz with stable system?

2) If not, if I substitute the two 512MB sticks with another VS1GB400C3 will I get a 2GB RAM @200Mhz stable system?

Thanx and bye

• Corsair Employees

1) is there a way to use these three memory modules together at 200MHz with stable system?

A: No I am sorry this is a limitation of the memory controller in the CPU, if you installed more than one double sided module in a socket 754 AMD system DDR333/200 is suggested, or if you install more that 2 double sided modules in a socket 939 AMD 64 system DDR333 would be suggested.

2) If not, if I substitute the two 512MB sticks with another VS1GB400C3 will I get a 2GB RAM @200Mhz stable system?

A: I would suggest replacing your module with two 1.0 Gig modules that are exactly matched for best performance.