Corsair Community

DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert Issues

Chaplain

Morning

In short, need help identifying what I have done wrong. Basically built a PC which crashes with a System freeze and strange echoey sound loop. This occurs 100% of the time when i boot up City of Heroes and less frequently when running windows apps. Its an expensive ornament at the moment.

To cut to the chase, the components vendor have replied to me with the following:

Quote:

VS2GBKIT400C3

Corsair 2GB DDR Value Select PC3200 CAS 3.0 Kit is incompatible unless you use the other 2 RAM slots Sir.

Not particularly helpful since im not really a total expert.

I beleive it is in reference to my MB, the Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert. However, i read that this board basically takes any type of ram? have i made a booboo in my ram selection? if not, can you see from the below anything else that might have gone wrong. They suggest slotting the ram into slots 2 and 4 since some 'issues' using corsair value in 1 and 3 have been reported. Im not sure if this would manifest itself in the same way that i have been experiencing? System lock ups, sound loops etc. Ill be cleaning the processor and cooler tonight to check i got that right, but otherwise im stumped unless you ppl can point out exaclty what about the above ram is incompatable.

Detail of my note to the components supplier follows, with description of fault and system build.

----------

Good afternoon. I am having problems with a system which i built yesterday. I bought everything from yourselves and assembled the system yesterday afternoon. There is evidently a problems with one of the components, which i cannot trace. Here is the history of the system.

DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert (Socket 939)

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ (socket 939)

Tagan TG530-U15 530W Power Supply

Hitachi Deskstar 7K80 80GB HD

Corsair 2GB DDR Value Select PC3200 CAS 3.0 Kit

Sapphire Radeon X1800 XT 512MB GDDR3 Avivo TV