Corsair Community

Corrupted ram

Moreau

I bought a VS1GB400C3 PC3200 1024mb ram stick 10 months ago. it was working fine for 8 months, then suddenly games like world of warcraft and oblivion would crash as soon as loading. I would get the blue screen of death. i thought the problem was my video card, so I bought a new one (the old one sucked anyway) but the same problem kept happening.

The new blue screen of death(BSoD) tells me that nv4_disp is the fle that is being messed up or whatever. This is the main driver file for the new video card. So I went back to the old video card, and started getting BSoD errors saying there was a problem witht his vid card as well.

I took out the corsair ram and no longer got any crashes, so Im like 95% sure the stick s corrupted.

I bought the stick from here http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?Sku=C13-2920

the warranty is over so I came here for help.

Also, i ran MEMtest and it said i had errors, Im a newb, didnt know what they meant so i switched out ram sticks, every possible combination, and only the corsair stick gave errors.

so....Can i replace this? just send it in and get a new one?

I dont think the problem could have anything to do with compatability or BIOS because it worked fine for 8 months.

• Corsair Employees
Please load setup/optimized defaults and then set the Dim Voltage to 2.7X volts (+.2 Volts W/Giga-Byte) and then set the timings manually to the tested settings for the specific module you have, XMS2700C2 Cass 2-3-3-6 for example or if you have Value Select "BY SPD" and then test the module/'s one at a time with www.memtest.org! If you still get errors, please follow the link in my signature “I think I have a bad part!” and we will be happy to replace them or it! However, if you get errors with both modules that would suggest some other problem and I would test them in another system or MB to be sure.