Corsair Community

Computer n00b needs overall help

cApNhOwDy

MSI K8N Diamond Plus Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 ATX AMD Motherboard

I got this MSI motherboard for the computer that I'm using right now. It it the first computer that I've built by myself and I'm pretty sure that I "done found me a good'n" when I chose this mobo other other mobos that were PCIExpress x16. I'm not really good at troubleshooting my problems concerning this and other products, but maybe someone here can help me finish up becuase I'm sure I'm doing something wrong.

Twinx2048-3200C2PT

XFX PV-T71G-UDE7 GeForce 7900 GT EXTREME (520MHz) 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego 2000MHz HT 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor

These are the other products that I got when I was building this computer. I put all of it in, and it works. But compared to other people with similar systems, my benchmark scores really suck. I got 53 FPS in Counter Strike: Source stress test and a score of 3434 points on 3dMark06. I'm sure that I"m doing something wrong.

First of all, the RAM, Corsair XMS, it's two sticks of 1GB each, and I put them in the first and second RAM slots. It works, and it registers as 2GB, but in the reviews on newegg.com it says that I have to "manually set the timings" to 2-3-3-6. What does this mean, and where do I do this in BIOS? I've looked, I have no clue ??? I ran Memtest on it for 2 hours, and it didnt bring up any errors, so I'm pretty sure that I have two good sticks of RAM.