Corsair Community

RAM Question In Relation To Motherboard

Koshy

Hia guys this is my first time here but ya'll seem knowledgable...

I have basically figured out all of my system... but then I hit the wall when RAM came into my life =)

I kept thinking I found an answer but then I would be dragged even farther away in the mud and now I'm posting here to ask advice. :confused:

Question #1:

Do I:

A) Go with Intel which supports DDR2

B) Go with AMD which has the FX-57 (Perfect for OC)

The problem here is, if I go with AMD mobo I'm stuck with DDR1 PC 3200 =/

Will there be that BIG a difference between using DDR1 PC 3200 and DDR2 PC 5400 or higher. When you also factor in the processor I could use with the AMD versus the Pentium. Whatever I end up doing I will be going with Corsair for its overclockablity, and I WANT to go with the FX-57 since its sooo good for overclocking, but at the same time if an overclocked FX-57 + Corsair XMS PC 3200 2 x 1 GIG RAM equals much slower or quite a bit slower then a overclocked Intel Pentium 4 Extreme Edition 3.73 Prescott + Corsair XMS DDR2 PC 8000 + 2 x 1 GIG RAM, shouldn't I go with the Intel solution, you may see my words are starting to get jumbled because I'm just downright confused as to what to do.

Question #2:

People say that the CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 433 PC 3500TWINX2048-3500LLPRO works with the Asus Deluxe SLI 3200 Xpress mobo's, my question then becomes does it also work the same with the Crossfired Boards? I will most definatly be going with Radeon and their Crossfired solution... but then the question becomes does this RAM also work Crossfired?

Then the question becomes if it does:

A) Will the performance gain from the PC 3500 be that much more noticable then the PC 3200, including when overclocked.