Corsair Community

A8N-SLI Premium,TwinX2048-3200C2PT Help again.

supaidaaman

i have:

ASUS A8N-SLI Premium

TwinX2048-3200C2PT

Athlon 64 X2 4200

Should cas latency be 2.5 for athlon systems or is that not set in stone?

I have ready many different bios settings for this ram from 2.75-2.8 volts and 2 or 2.5 cas latency i would like to hear a definate answer from an admin on the proper settings/timings because my system seems to be unstable to matter what my timings are set at.

-thanks

You don't mean admin, you mean Corsair representative. Example: I'm an admin, but don't work for Corsair.

Best thing I can do is point you towards these Official Corsair resources:

http://www.corsairmemory.com/corsair/products/specs/twinx2048-3200c2.pdf

Long story short, it's 2.5 for AthlonXP, 2.0 for Athlon64.

One stick or a TwinX pack timings for 3200C2s:

CAS Latency (tCL): 2

RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 3

Row Precharge (tRP): 3

Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 6

Memory Voltage: 2.75 Volts

All other settings to defaults.

well i'm having the same mobo and mem and the same issues as well. I get the ram to work at 2.5-3-3-6 1T @ 2.75v but when i change CL at 2 system crashes at boot up. i havent tried using 2.8v yet but i dont think it will fix the prob.any thoughts?

• Corsair Employee
What slots do you have the modules in? I would try slots 2-4 and if that still does not solve the problem test the modules one at a time to make sure one is not failing. But I must add that I have seen this same type of issue more so with these newer core CPU's it seems they just dont like to run at 1T Command Rate.

I switched to slot 2 & 4, managed to start up, do a little stress test. But as soon as i turned on BF2, it was reboot (bothe 2T and 1T). After that wont POST anymore, till i switched back to auto. I tested a OCZ matched pair 2048 as well, exactly the same problem. No CAS 2 boot.