Corsair Community

Bad Stick

Sgt_Misfire

I have been running two sticks of xms3200c2pt for around 12 months with no problems, the other day my PC shutdown and would not reboot, the power came one but no post. I have a second pc so I started trouble shooting one part at a time, for some reason one of the modules is dead, the pc boots fine with the other but If I swap them or try to use both again It wont post :eek: I tried It In the other pc with the same results and tried the other two modules from that PC In my own and again It worked fine, I can only conclude that this stick Is dead and should I request a RMA?

bad stick Is cmx512-3200c2pt xms3202v4.1

the good stick Is the same except xms3202v5.2

• 4 weeks later...

Ok things are not looking up :roll:

I Installed the replacement stick and now my games ( World Of Warcraft / Fear / Half Life 2 ) are all crashing within a couple of minutes of play with the folowing error or variation of

This application has encountered a critical error:

ERROR #132 (0x85100084) Fatal Exception

Program: C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\WoW.exe

Exception: 0xC0000005 (ACCESS_VIOLATION) at 001B:006EB71F

The instruction at "0x006EB71F" referenced memory at "0x375EC8D4".

I noticed that the revision number on the replacement is 1.2 so Im thinking this is a refurbished part maybe, I'm not sure what to do now as I have already sent the original stick back under the RMA I recieved for this stick but 'm wondering If I would be better of getting a matched pair even though theoreticaly It shouldnt make a difference.

Ok I think I need to give you a full rundown.

I intialy purchased 1 stick of ram ( ver 1.2) giving me 512mb